danaxvisual.blogg.se

Vox ac30cc2 greenback vs wharfedale
Vox ac30cc2 greenback vs wharfedale















Perhaps the most iconic amplifier in VOX's pedigree, the AC30 earned its place in history as the amplifier that powered the British Invasion. Capable of both enchanting clean and raucous overdriven sounds, the signature chime of the AC30 Custom pairs seamlessly the intricacies of your playing style, resulting in a sound that is truly your own. Employing a quartet of EL84 power tubes, the AC30 Custom pumps 30 watts of remarkable tone through a pair of 12" Celestion Greenback speakers.

  • Baritone Horns, Euphoniums, and Alto Hornsįor those who crave more power, the AC30 expands on the captivating sound of its little brother by doubling the wattage.
  • Speakers - Speakers & Tweeters Component.
  • So any AC30 should have Celestion Blues (or one of the cheaper cloned alternatives) and it will improve the tone noticeably, whether it's a C2 or a CC2. The most important thing is the speaker (s) and Celestion Blues are the sound of Vox amps. Again, the cabinet materials are meaningless unless you're Brian May. AC30's are some of the loudest amps on the face of the earth. mdf are not going to make themselves known. And with the attenuator, things like ply vs. Even my handwound AC15TV1H is so freaking loud at club gigs that I can't get it into the tone zone without an attenuator. AC15's and 30's like to be cranked before they start giving up the good stuff. it's a very good amp in its own right, but for true Vox afficionados, it's subtly less toneful than the CC2. But as we all know, the depression hit and even the move to China couldn't keep the costs down far enough, so the C2, essentially a downgraded CC2 with fewer features and lower specs came to light. The stakes were really high to see if a Chinese Vox could still sound like a Vox, so they put a LOT of work into the CC2 to get it right. They were made at the Marshall plant in Bletchley, but production costs were getting out of hand so Vox moved production to China. I have an older AC30TBX made before they moved production to China.

    vox ac30cc2 greenback vs wharfedale

    I am sure, if my CC2 blew up, I would manage with a C2, and probably be happy with it, but it would need some adaptation in use of the channel mixing. the CC2 allows you to do it more conveniently with the flick of a switch.Īside from that, I think the two combos are pretty much the same. Apart from that, I can't see anything other than slight disadvantages, the big one being the fact that you have to jumper the two channels, to achieve channel mixing.

    vox ac30cc2 greenback vs wharfedale

    However, that latter issue is really not such a great thing IMO, since you just have to put the time in to change out the tubes in a CC2, and it is not the kind of job you would really want to be doing in a hurry in any case (or necessarily very often). I agree entirely with the person above, that the main advantages of this are the speakers that come stock (greenbacks - sound very solid) and the ability to get to the tubes. It has loads of sag, and responds wonderfully to playing dynamics. I also really like the options on the back panel, although I generally have it set to 22watts, and on the 'modern' option. As the person above said, the ability to link both channels at the flip of a switch is something I use all the time - it allows me to quickly alter levels of gain/tonality for different songs, which also respond differently to changes in guitar volume.

    vox ac30cc2 greenback vs wharfedale

    This amp is wonderful - I have gigged with it for over a year, it has never let me down, and sounds absolutely superb, especially with guitars with P90s and low output humbuckers. Finally, I took out the bright cap (although now, I probably wouldn't bother to do that again). I changed the reverb tank for an accutronics - much improved. I also swapped out the preamp and power tubes for JJs.

    Vox ac30cc2 greenback vs wharfedale upgrade#

    I didn't like the speakers enormously, and since I had had it quite cheaply (I was actually after an AC15 when I saw it, but it seemed such a bargain), I decided to upgrade the speakers to UK Celestion alnico blues. Everything about it seemed fine in terms of things being in working order. I bought my CC2 for about 2/3 of its listed price, as it had been on the shop floor a while/had been brought back. Here is my take on the differences, as an owner of a (modified) CC2, and someone who has tried the C2.















    Vox ac30cc2 greenback vs wharfedale